Blue Nile Region

Travel to Blue Nile Region – The Blue and White Nile States

The former province of Blue Nile lies in the east of Sudan and now comprises the four (new) Sudanese states of Blue Nile, Sennar, Al Jazirah and White Nile.

Ad-Damazin is the capital of Blue Nile, whilst Rabak is the capital of White Nile, and Singa is capital of Sennar. Wadi Medani is capital of Al Jazirah.

As the name of the region suggests, the Blue Nile is the main geographical feature of this region – with rich, irrigated, agricultural lands on the banks of the Nile providing fruit and sugar cane.


Africa Travel Information