Central Botswana

Travel to Central Botswana – Adventure in Makgadikgadi Salt Pans

Many travellers traverse this central region en route between Gaborone, Francistown and the game reserves of the north. Central Botswana broadly comprises two of Botswana’s nine districts – Central and North-East. The Central District is the largest of Botswana’s regions in terms of area and population it is also home to the simply incomparable Makgadikgadi Salt Pans, Nata Bird Sanctuary, Tuli Block and Khama Rhino Sanctuary. It encompasses the traditional homeland of the Bamangwato people and also contains tributaries of the Limpopo River. The important transit point of Francistown lies in Botswana’s North-East District.

  • The great space and solitude of the Makgadikgadi Salt Pans
  • Biking, canoeing and horseback riding in the Tuli Block
  • Conservation of White Rhino at the Khama Rhino Sanctuary


Africa Travel Information