Quirimbas Archipelago

Travel to Quirimbas Archipelago – See Traditional Villages and Spectacular Marine Life

The Quirimbas Islands lie in the Indian Ocean off northeastern Mozambique, close to Pemba, the capital of the province of Cabo Delgado. The archipelago consists of around 27 islands which includes Ibo, Matemo, Quilaluia, Quirimba, Quisiva and Rolas Island. With plentiful opportunities to snorkel and scuba dive amongst spectacular coral reefs and wildlife as well as enjoying a slower pace of life aboard a traditional dhow, the archipelago has something to suit everyone.

The Quirimbas Archipelago was originally home to fishing settlements and the islands’ population grew around Arab trading posts and thrived under the Portuguese slave trade. In 2002 part of the islands were declared a national park.

This area of Mozambique has spectacular marine life hence the multiple opportunities to dive and snorkel. Spot sharks, turtles, humpback whales and even possibly the occasional dugong amongst beautiful coral reefs. Then on land head to Quirimbas National Park, surrounded by mangroves and home to wildlife such as elephants, leopards, lions, buffalo and wild dogs.

For more cultural attractions visit Ibo Island to see historic forts and buildings.

The islands of the Quirimbas Archipelago allow for superb scuba diving, snorkeling, fishing, sailing and bird watching. Or on the island of Matemo you can take a beautiful sunset dhow cruise of take a village tour to learn more about the culture in this part of the country.

Mozambique is renowned for its seafood so relax in one of the restaurants sampling the local delicacies or opt to take dhow cruise at sunset to witness one of those legendary African sunsets.

Between the islands there are light aircraft, helicopters and boats but once on the island it is best to get around on foot.

  • Visit traditional villages to see the local way of life.
  • Spot sharks, turtles and whales whilst diving.
  • Relax on a sunset dhow cruise.


Africa Travel Information